Skip to content

The Recipe for World Peace

October 6, 2013

For those of you new to Sugarmamma, my blog consists of family recipes, stories about caring for my Granny Emma (who has dementia), and the occasional pointless rabbit trail of a story. I have posted several of our family favorites, and I’m warming the oven for another season of baking!

Two years ago, when Granny Emma gave me her recipe box, I jokingly commented that it probably contained the recipe for world peace. Little did I know that my statement would be true! Deep within the box’s contents, amidst cakes, breads, casseroles, and salads, was a shopping list or part of some mysterious untitled recipe (which I found many of):

1 cherry pie filling
1 can of crushed pineapple
4 bananas
1/2 cup of chopped nuts
marshmallows
sour cream

I have no idea what dessert these ingredients combine to become, but if any of you want to take a stab at it, you are more than welcome!

I flipped the paper over to see what was on the back, and what I found was reassurance…the ground rules that guided my grandmother’s life.

He is an eternal God.
He is with me at all times.
He is a loving God.
He will never fail me.
I can trust him at all times.
He is my priceless Savior.

These truths will be a stronghold for whatever situation stands before you…world peace on an index card!

20131006-174011.jpg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

