Skip to content

Texas Millionaire Candy

December 20, 2011

20111219-190953.jpg

This recipe is a special request from good friend! I had to do my candy making at night, so I don’t have pictures, but I wanted to get it posted before Christmas. Texas Millionaire Candy has been a Christmas tradition in our family for years. Granny worked weeks in advance to make candy for the holidays. We would have walnut fudge, peanut brittle, peanut butter fudge, peanut butter balls, and the infamous Texas Millionaire Candy. It’s a chewy, caramel, nutty combination covered in chocolate. This was my first attempt making it, and it wasn’t as chewy as Granny’s, but definitely edible! My grandfather, Fonzo, worked at the Board of Education for years, and Granny would send boxes of candy for his coworkers to enjoy. Our friend Janet (who may as well be family), asked for this recipe for by name!

Texas Millionaire Candy
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup white sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1 pound of pecans
2 cans Eagle Brand Milk
2 sticks of butter
1 cup of white syrup

Prepare a 9 X 13 pan by buttering the bottom and sides. Mix all ingredients except one of the cans of milk and the pecans in a heavy saucepan. Bring this mixture to a rolling boil, then add the second can of milk. Do not stop the boiling, allowing it to “form a soft ball.” I translated this as the “soft ball” temperature on my candy thermometer (because I am so smart!). Remove the mixture from the heat and carefully stir in the pecans. Pour the mixture into the buttered pan and let it sit overnight. When hard, cut it into small squares and dip into a melted mixture (a double boiler recommended) of 12 oz chocolate chips and 1/4 of a paraffin cake. Place on wax paper until cool. Store the covered candy in the refrigerator, but it’s best when allowed to warm a little at room temperature.

Honestly, I think I may have cooked it a little long (even though I watched the temp) as the sugar mixture got harder than it was supposed to. I have learned that candy is surely an art form. Let me know if you have any ideas on this! Also, if you have special requests for Granny’s recipes, please feel free to send them on. I love getting feedback and hearing stories about Granny and her wonderful recipes!

Also, let’s see who can “Name That Fabric” from the image above! I know someone out there can! First one to leave the correct answer below will get a free sampling of my next test recipe! Hint: you have to be family or friends to know, so it’s a little rigged!

Merry Christmas to all! May you have a blessed celebration!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Janet Jacobs permalink
    December 20, 2011 11:05 am

    Thank you so much Melanie for the recipe and the kind words. I do love this candy. I think you are right about making candy being an Art, sometimes mine turns out perfectly and other times it is a big flop! Keep cooking and sharing those memories of Emma!

Leave a Reply

