Skip to content

What’s So Great About Eight?

November 19, 2011

My youngest son turned eight last week, and I think I must have gone temporarily insane. I let him invite nine other boys over for a sleepover. Yes, 10 total. Yes, I said sleepover. I started out saying he could have four, then things just got carried away. Conner loves his friends better than any other kid I know. He has been drooling over the new Golden Corral commercial with the chocolate fountain, so I borrowed one for the party. Needless to say, it was a hit! We went on a bravery walk in the dark, had a dance contest, and ate lots of sweets. The next morning we had the traditional birthday pancake breakfast. Not just plain pancakes, but rainbow colored pancakes. The boys all have to drink their milk out of police mugs…part of our tradition. It was a whole lot of crazy, and a whole lot of fun. My son’s smile at the breakfast table in the morning made it worth every gray hair!

20111119-133935.jpg

Do you know the best thing about being eight? You can have your monkey and a small arsenal of air soft guns and munitions, and it’s still OK…

20111119-134028.jpg

Happy Birthday to my sweet, tired baby boy!

20111119-133956.jpg
Birthdays are hard work!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Bridgett B permalink
    January 14, 2012 5:21 am

    What a great mamma! I love that about my boys, too. Their beds are full of stuffed animals and weaponry;)

Leave a Reply

