Skip to content

A little hairspray goes a long way…

November 13, 2011

I decided to have some good “girl time” with Granny Emma today, so I loaded up a bag of makeup and hair styling tools and headed to Highland for a visit. Granny has pretty much secluded herself to home these days, so she hasn’t been out for a proper hair appointment for a while. I washed and dryed and curled and teased…well, you get the point! I also did her makeup, which she hasn’t worn for a year or more. She looked so nice, that she kept checking her reflection in the oven door during lunch and didn’t even notice that I had eaten with her. Too funny! She then decided that she was “all dressed up with no place to go” and asked if I could take her and Fonzo to visit my mom and dad for a while. It would be the windiest day in Highland this year. Don’t panic, she had an old school hair bonnet in her purse for this type of emergency! She giggled and smiled the entire afternoon, and had a great visit with her family. It just goes to show you that feeling beautiful can go a long way at any age! Don’t underestimate the power of a can of hairspray!

This was the first quilt that Granny made as a young woman. It is old and tattered. It is stained and worn. I’m sure it was gorgeous back when Granny finished the last stitch, but to me it couldn’t be any more beautiful than it is today…just like Granny…

20111113-170839.jpg

20111113-170946.jpg

20111113-170909.jpg

“Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.” Proverbs 31:30

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristy permalink
    November 14, 2011 1:58 am

    I love your stories and recipes. They have touched my heart!

Leave a Reply

