Skip to content

Blackberry Buttermilk Poundcups

January 24, 2010

Blackberry cobbler is close to my heart.  It was one of the first desserts I learned to bake as a young girl.  We were camping at Green River, and we picked fresh berries close to the lake.  My then-boyfriend’s Grandmother Martha taught me how (right there in the camper!).  She said the cobbler consisted of “a cup, a cup, a cup, and a stick.”  A cup of flour, cup of milk, cup of sugar, and stick of butter.  Add fruit, and voila!  Cobbler!  We have limited produce available at our local groceries this time of year, and seedless wasn’t an option.  However, I’m giving some props to our local Wal-Mart for these berry beauties!   I’ll just be picking seeds out of my teeth for about a week.   I wanted to try a poundcake cupcake, to see how dense it was compared to a regular cake mix.  It definitely held up to the weight of the blackberries on top!  I topped them off with a freshly made whipped cream.  My husband tested a bite, and handed me the plate.  I thought, “Well, here’s another thing he won’t eat.”  But, he quickly followed with, “Put another one on there, and more whipped cream!”  Chalk another one up for Sugarmamma!

 

I had some batter left over, so I made a little rustic tart in a vintage cast-iron skillet.  I love the look of it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

