Skip to content

And on her birthday, she wanted purple…

January 9, 2010

purple cake

I recently had a friend request a cake for her mother’s eightieth birthday.  She said her mother “loved the color purple”, and she wanted something feminine and sweet to celebrate.  I am so sentimental about the cakes that I bake.   To me, it is such an honor to be asked to participate in someone’s precious memory.  It may be the blessing of a baby, the promise of an engagment, a wedding, or a birthday (1st or 80th!!!).  When I look back at my porfolio of baking,  I can also share in the memories of all of those who have celebrated with my cakes.   I hope that I can continue to share in these occasions, and I hope on my 80th birthday, that I will be able to enjoy a cake that reflects me!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Johnnie Terry permalink
    August 19, 2011 5:38 pm

    I feel the love in your blog. What a sweet way to remember your grandma.

    • August 20, 2011 1:00 am

      That’s the sweetest thing anyone could say! Granny doesn’t really understand what a blog is, but she thinks she’s famous now!

Leave a Reply

