Skip to content

Mountain Dew Cake…a connection to Kentucky, and not just with sweetness!

July 30, 2011

20110729-083230.jpg

Ok, so not that Mountain Dew isn’t sweet enough…it needed to be included in a cake? This is some sweet business, dare I say almost too sweet? I said ALMOST people! Mountain Dew is infamous in Kentucky. OK, not THAT Mountain Dew. The kind that your great-great uncle Ned used make up on the side of a mountain…Moonshine. I have lived in Kentucky my whole life, and I have never actually seen Moonshine. It’s elusive still today. Or maybe I’m just naive. Probably better that way! Supposedly some guys in Lexington have now made it legal to make and distribute Moonshine. Bet it won’t start a car like Uncle Ned’s. Ok, enough history, back to cake!

20110729-083254.jpg

<a

My Granny's recipe calls for the following ingredients:
1 boxed yellow cake mix
1/2 cup of vegetable oil
1/2 cup of water
1/2 cup of Mountain Dew
4 eggs
1 3.5 oz box of instant vanilla pudding

20110729-090832.jpg

<a

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees. Spray your bundt pan or fluted pan with baking spray (or you can grease it and lightly flour it). Place all of the above ingredients into a bowl and mix until just moistened. Overbeating will make a tougher cake. You can use a stand mixer or a hand mixer…or even a spoon for that matter! Make sure to scrape down the sides and bottom at some point, because there is always some powdery mix hiding in a crevice of the bowl!

20110729-083329.jpg

Next, pour the mix into the prepared pan. It almost looks good enough to eat right now!

20110729-083420.jpg

Now bake for 45-50 minutes, until the edges are starting to pull away, and it does’t jiggle.
On a side note, would you like to see what it looks like when you try to carry four eggs in one hand (because you are too lazy to get a bowl)…?

20110729-083406.jpg

I was baking this cake to take to a school function, and when my husband smelled it in the oven, he asked me, “Is that a test cake?”. Needless to say, it didn’t make it to the social. It sounded like he may have had a “food-gasm” with the first bite. He even commented that the cake tasted “just like Enza’s” (his friend’s Italian grandmother who ran a restaurant in Lexington until she retired back to her homeland). I will take that as a compliment! Now back to the glaze…

Glaze Ingredients:
1 cup of sugar
1 stick of butter or margarine
and yes, 1/4 cup of Mountain Dew

20110729-083451.jpg

Place all ingredients into a saucepan, and heat on medium high until it boils. Stir constantly until it becomes thicker and bubbly…

20110729-093347.jpg

20110729-093404.jpg

When it’s ready, it should just coat (I like to say hug) the back of your spoon or spatula.

20110729-093412.jpg

Next, pour your glaze carefully over your slightly cooled cake while it is still in the pan. Yes, I checked with Granny…still in the pan. Some cakes get a top glaze, some get a bottom glaze. She says that this is what “keeps it rich and moist”. Well, she is the expert!

Now, let the cake cool a little more, allowing the glaze to soak in. However, don’t make the mistake I did, and let it sit until the glaze hardens too much. It’s like concrete, and you can barely get it out! When it’s time to get it out of the pan, place the plate or cakestand on top of the cake pan…

20110729-094104.jpg

Then carefully flip it over, and gently shake the cake pan until it loosens. Don’t cry if it sticks a little. It will still be eaten…guaranteed! See evidence below:

20110729-083537.jpg

Going…

20110729-083546.jpg

Going…

20110729-083602.jpg

Going…

20110729-083616.jpg

Gone!

I hope you get as much pleasure from this cake as our family did! It lasted less than a day…and yes, Granny Emma and Pa Fonzo got a piece before it was gone! Even Sam begged for a piece, and yes, he got a little taste! It’s good to be a puppy in Sugarmamma’s kitchen!

20110729-083525.jpg

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2011 1:03 pm

    My friend told me about this recipe on Pinterest. I made it yesterday and it is already 1/2 gone (we’re a family of four). Wonderful!! I shared your blog address on Twitter today — do you use Twitter? Great blog!

    • September 16, 2011 1:40 am

      I don’t twitter, but thanks for the mention! That is my husband’s favorite dessert! Glad you all loved it!

  2. January 17, 2012 9:50 pm

    I combined your cake recipe with someone else’s Mtn. Dew frosting recipe on Pinterest and made cupcakes for my son’s bday. Everyone loved them. The cake is amazingly moist, will probably make this again only try your glaze for ourselves – yum :) thank you!

  3. February 26, 2012 11:57 pm

    Loved the story and I”m gotta try this cake. Thank You for posting

  4. CLown Clark permalink
    March 3, 2012 5:04 am

    i am glad im not the only Ky Person who loves this Cake my mom made some with her recipe which is just slighty different from yours and it was all gone in like 6 hours Thanks

  5. January 5, 2013 2:36 pm

    I spent last Thanksgiving with one of my best friends in Kentucky and she made this cake. OMG. I could have eaten it all day long! In the UK, we’re not quite so experimental with our cakes but I’m heading off to look for some pudding mix so I can make this!

  6. Georgiana. Noble permalink
    March 22, 2014 4:41 pm

    I live in louisville ky my son wanted a mt dew cake I could only find recipes calling for lemon cake mix so happy I found your recipe I didn’t want a lemon cake !! It was delicious my son and his girlfriend almost demolished whole cake !!! Thank you

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

